Home Affiliations Members Statutes Resources NomenclatorPublications Subcommissions Meetings Links Courses Login

Introduction

The ICTF has several Subcommissions who collaborate on the oranization of workshops, conference symposia, and the development of taxonomic resources for their user communities. There are also affiliated Commissions that share a common vision for the development of cooperative fungal taxonomy, although they are not formally under the ICTF umbrella.

In August 2011, dramatic changes in the rules for naming fungi were announced, and the international mycological community is now mobilizing to develop a single name system for fungal species, replacing the dual nomenclature system that was dominant for the last century. The ICTF and the Nomenclatural Committee for Fungi are cooperating in coordinating the international response to the rule changes. The Subcommissions, Affiliated Commissions and Working Groups listed below are where the nomenclatural discussions will occur. We will try to keep this list as complete as possible, and links to the web-based discussions will be posted here as we become aware of them.

 

ICTF Subcommissions

International Subcommission on Colletotrichum Taxonomy

Minutes of Inaugural ISCT General Meeting (9-August-2012)

Lei Cai (Chair)
CAS, China

Bevan Weir (Secretary)
Landcare, New Zealand

Paul Cannon
CABI, UK

Jim Correll
University of Arkansas, USA

Jo Anne Crouch
USDA, USA

Pedro Crous
CBS, the Netherlands

Ulrike Damm
CBS, the Netherlands

Peter R. Johnston
Landcare, New Zealand

Kevin D Hyde
Chiang Rai, Thailand

Zuoyi Liu
Guizhou, China

Stephen Rehner
USDA, USA

Toyozo Sato
National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences, Japan

Belle D Shenoy
India

Roger Shivas
DEEDI, Australia

 

International Subcommission on Fusarium Taxonomy

This is also a subcommission of the International Society of Plant Pathology Commission on Fusarium. There are two major resources developed by this subcommission. The first is the Fusarium nomenclatural database now maintained on the website of the Centraalbureau voor Schimmelcultures (http://www.cbs.knaw.nl/fusarium/BioloMICS.aspx). The second is the DNA sequence database for identification maintained by the Fusarium Research Centre at Pennsylvania State University (http://plantpath.psu.edu/facilities/fusarium-research-center).

This subcommission meets regularly at the Fusarium workshops associated with each International Congress of Plant Pathology.

David Geiser (Chair)

Takayuki Aoki
 
Sofia Chulze
 
Brett Summerell

John Leslie

Antonio Logrieco

Ulf Thrane

Cees Waalwijk

Kerry O’Donnell

International Subcommission on Rust Taxonomy

Mary Catherine Aime (Chair)
Louisiana State University Agricultural Center
USA
maime@agcenter.lsu.edu

Stephan Helfer
The Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
UK
S.Helfer@rbge.ac.uk

José Carmine Dianese
Universidade de Brasilia
Brazil
jcarmine@unb.br

Yoshitaka Ono
Ibaraki University
Japan
Herb-iba@mx.ibaraki.ac.jp

Markus Scholler
Staatliches Museum f. Naturkunde
Germany
scholler@naturkundeka-bw.de

Reinhard Berndt
Geobotanishces Institut
Switzerland
reinhard.berndt@env.ethz.ch

Mehrdad Abbasi
Plant Pests and Diseases Research Institute
Iran
Puccinia@gmail.com

Drew Minnis
U.S. Forest Service
USA
amminnis@fs.fed.us

Gaddam Bagyanarayana
Osmaria University
India
gbagyan@gmail.com

Cvetomir Denchev
Institute of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research
Bulgaria
cmdenchev@yahoo.co.uk

Richard Hamelin
University of British Columbia
Canada
richard.hamelin@ubc.ca


International Subcommission on Trichoderma and Hypocrea

Irina Druzhinina (Chair)
Vienna University of Technology Institute of Chemical Engineering
Vienna, Austria

John Bissett
Eastern Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Ottawa, Canada

Priscila Chaverri
University of Maryland, MD, USA

Zafari Doustmorad,
Plant Protection Bu Ali Sina University,
Hamedan, Iran

Walter Gams
Baarn, The Netherlands

Alfredo Herrera-Estrella
CINVESTAV
Irapuato, Mexico

Walter M. Jaklitsch
Department of Systematic and Evolutionary Botany
University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Christian Kubicek
Vienna University of Technology Institute of Chemical Engineering
Vienna, Austria

Mette Lübeck
Aalborg University
Copenhagen, Denmark

Matteo Lorito
University of Napoli,
Napoli, Italy

Enrique Monte
University of Salamanca,
Salamanca, Spain

Liu Pei-Gui
Kunming Institute of Botany
Chinese Academy of Sciences China
Kunming, China

Gary Samuels
US Dept. Agriculture, ARS
Beltsville, MD, USA

George Szakacs
Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Budapest, Hungary

Ulf Thrane
Dept. Systems Biology, Technical University of Denmark
Kgs Lyngby Denmark

Giovanni Vannacci
University of Pisa
Pisa, Italy

Xu Tong
Institute of Biotechnology
Zhejiang University, China

 

Affiliated IUMS Commissions

International Commission on Penicillium and Aspergillus (ICPA)

Note: A web-based nomenclatural discussion is now active on the ICPA site.

Rob Samson (Chair)
CBS-KNAW Fungal Biodiversity Centre
Utrecht, The Netherlands
r.samson@cbs.knaw.nl

Jens Frisvad
Institute for Systems Biology, Tecnhical University of Denmark
Kgs Lyngby, Denmark
jcf@bio.dtu.dk

S. Boem Hong
 Korean Agricultural Culture Collection
National Academy of Agricultural Science
Suwon, Korea
funguy@korea.kr
 
Jos Houbraken
CBS-KNAW Fungal Biodiversity Centre
Utrecht, The Netherlands
j.houbraken@cbs.knaw.nl

Corné Klaasen
Dept. Medical Microbiology&  Infectious Diseases,
Canisius Wilhelmina Hospital, Nijmegen, The Netherlands 
c.klaassen@cwz.nl

Giancarlo Perrone
Inst. of Science and Food Production, CNR
Bari, Italy
giancarlo.perrone@ispa.cnr.it

Steve Peterson
NCAUR, ARS, USDA
Peoria, IL, USA
stephen.peterson@ars.usda.gov

John Pitt
CSIRO Food and Nutritional Sciences,
North Ryde, NSW, Australia
john.pitt@csiro.au

Keith Seifert
Eastern Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Keith.Seifert@agr.gc.ca

Janos Varga
University of Szeged
Szeged, Hungary
jvarga@bio.u-szeged.hu

Takashi Yaguchi
Medical Mycology Research Center, Chiba University
Chiba, Japan
t-yaguchi@faculty.chiba-u.jp


NCF/ICTF Nomenclatural Working Groups

Homobasidiomycetes Working Group

Benjamin Stielow
b.stielow@cbs.knaw.nl

Karl-Henrik Larsson
k.h.larsson@nhm.uio.no

Nico Dam
n.j.dam@tue.nl

Bernard Moyersoen
bmoyersoen@hotmail.com

Manon Neilen
manon.neilen@gmail.com

Luis Morgado
xakazulo@gmail.com

Ludmila Marvanova
ludmila@sci.muni.cz

Lorelei Norvell
llnorvell@pnw-ms.com

Joost Stalpers
jastalpers@hotmail.com

Ursula Eberhardt
eberhardt-u@web.de

Scott Redhead
scott.redhead@agr.gc.ca

 

Heterobasidiomycetes Working Group

Note:  See also International Subcommission on Rust Taxonomy above.

Dominik Begerow (Convenor)
dominik.begerow@rub.de

Cathie Aime
maime@agcenter.lsu.edu

David McLaughlin
davem@umn.edu

Stephan Helfer
s.helfer@rbge.ac.uk

Qi-Ming Wang
wangqm@im.ac.cn

Angela Schäfer
angela.schaefer@rub.de

Hai Nguyen
hai.nguyen.1984@gmail.com

Andrey Yurkov
andrey.yurkov@gmail.com

Maj Padamsee
padamseem@landcareresearch.co.nz


Erysiphales Working Group       Taxon paper 2013 (PDF)

Uwe Braun (Convenor)


Hypocreales Working Group      VOTE for Bipolaris vs. Cochliobolus by clicking here!

Amy Rossman (Co-Convenor)
Systematic Mycology & Microbiology Laboratory
USDA-ARS
Beltsville, Maryland
amy.rossman@ars.usda.gov

Priscila Chaverri (Co-Convenor)
Dept. of Plant Sciences and Landscape Architecture
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland
pchaverr@umd.edu

Pedro Crous
Centraalbureau voor Schimmelcultures
Utrecht, The Netherlands
p.crous@cbs.knaw.nl

Walter Gams
Baarn, The Netherlands
walter.gams@online.nl

Tom Graefenhan
Grain Research Laboratory
Canadian Grain commission
Winnipeg, Manitoba. Canada
tom.graefenhan@grainscanada.gc.ca

Cesar Herrera
Dept. of Plant Sciences and Landscape Architecture
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland
csherrera@umd.edu

Yuuri Hirooka  
Forest Pathology Lab
Dept. Forest Microbiology
Forestry & Forest Products Research Institute
Matsunosato 1, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8687, JAPAN
Yuurihirooka@gmail.com

Walter Jaklitsch
Dept. of Systematic and Evolutionary Biology
University of Vienna
Vienna, Austria
walter.jaklitsch@univie.ac.at

Caroline Judith
Systematic Mycology & Microbiology Laboratory
USDA-ARS
Beltsville, Maryland
Caroline.judith@ars.usda.gov

Lorenzo Lombard
Centraalbureau voor Schimmelcultures
Utrecht, The Netherlands
l.lombard@cbs.knaw.nl

Rosalind Lowen
PO Box 1223
Lincoln NH 03251
Roz.Lowen@gmail.com

Kadri Põldmaa
Institute of Ecology and Earth Sciences
University of Tartu
Tartu, Estonia
kadri@zbi.ee

Catalina Salgado
Dept. of Plant Sciences and Landscape Architecture
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland
salgadoc@umd.edu

Gary Samuels
321 Hedgehog Mt. Rd.
Deering, NH
samuelspatty@gmail.com

Hans-Josef Schroers
Agricultural Institute of Slovenia
Ljubljiana, Slovenia

Keith Seifert
Eastern Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Keith.Seifert@agr.gc.ca 

Richard Summerbell
Sporometrics
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
rsummerbell@sporometrics.com

Wen-ying Zhuang
Key Laboratory of Systematic Mycology and Lichenology Laboratory
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, China
zhuangwy@im.ac.cn

 

Dothideomycetes Working Group               Naming and Outline of Dothideomycetes–2014 (PDF) 

Go to Discussion Forum here!

Pedro W Crous (Co-Convenor)
p.crous@cbs.knaw.nl

Kevin D. Hyde (Co-Convenor)
kdhyde1@gmail.com

Uwe Braun
uwe.braun@botanik.uni-halle.de

Begona Aguirre Hudson
B.AGUIRRE_HUDSON@KEW.ORG

Alexander Vasilenko
vanvkm@gmail.com

Gayah Rahayn
gayuhrahaya@yahoo.com

Chiharu Nakashima
chiharu@bio.mie-u.ac.jp

Mike Wingfield
Mike.Wingfield@fabi.up.ac.za

Jose C. Dianese
jcarmine@unb.br

Tebrana V. Andzionova
toad@darwin.ule.com

Sandra I.R.Videira
s.videira@cbs.knaw.nl

William Quaedulug
W.Quaedulug@cbs.know.nl

Ewald Groenewald
e.groenewald@cbs.knaw.nl

Konstanze Beusch
schubest@bsm.mwn.de  
Konstanze.Schubest@gwx.de

Gerard Verkley
g.verkley@cbs.knaw.nl

Don Reynolds
DONREYNOLDS@Berkley.edu

Andrew N. Miller
University of Illinois
Illinois Natural History Survey
amiller@inhs.illinois.edu

Connad Schoch
schochz@mail.nih.gov

Hugo Madrid
hugo.madrid@gmail.com

Do Laylor
drjotaylor@yahoo.co.uk

Valerie Paval
Valerie.Paval@vesaille.vina.fr

Joey Tanney
Joey.Tanney@agr.gc.ca

Keith Seifert
Eastern Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Keith.Seifert@agr.gc.ca

Nalin Wijayawardene
nalinwijayawardene@yahoo.com
 
Yong Wang
Guizhou University, China
yongwangbis@aliyun.com

Cordyceps Working Group

Joey Spatafora (Convenor)
joseph.spatafora@oregonstate.edu

Alisha Owensby
owensbyc@science.oregonstate.edu

Ban Sayaka
ban-sayaka@nite.go.jp

Bhushan Shrestha
bhushan.shrestha@gmail.com

David Hughes
dph14@psu.edu

Gi-Ho Sung
sung97330@gmail.com

Jae-Mo Sung
jmsung@kangwon.ac.kr

Janet Jennifer Luangsa-ard
jajen@biotec.or.th

João Paulo Machado de Araújo
jpmaraujo@yahoo.com.br

K.W. Gams
walter.gams@orange.nl

Mingjun Chen
chenmingjun2007@yahoo.cn

Nigel Hywel-Jones
nigel@bhutanpharmaceuticals.com

Priscila Chaverri
pchaverr@umd.edu

Richard Humber
rah3@cornell.edu

Ryan Kepler
rmkepler@gmail.com

Stephen Rehner
stephen.rehner@ars.usda.gov

Tatiana Sanjuan
t_sanjuan@hotmail.com

Tsuyoshi Hosoya
hosoya@kahaku.go.jp

Y.-J. Yao
yaoyj@im.ac.cn

Zengzhi Li
zzli@ahau.edu.cn

Harry Evans
h.evans@cabi.org

Leotiomycetes Working Group

Peter Johnston (Convenor)
Landcare Research
Auckland, New Zealand

Hans-Otto Baral
Tübingen, Germany

Dick Korf
Emeritus Professor of Mycology, Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, USA

Keith Seifert
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Ottawa, Canada

Linda Kohn
University of Toronto Mississauga
Ontario, Canada

Wen-ying Zhuang
Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Tsyuoshi Hosoya
National Museum of Nature and Science, Tsukuba

Jeff Stone
Oregon State University 

Ludmila Marvanova
Masaryk University
Czech Republic
         
Gwen Grelet
          New Zealand
         
Cristoph Gruenig
          Germany
         
Sarah Hambleton
          Canada
         
Seppo Huhtinen
          Finland
         
XIngZhong Liu
          China
         
Tom May
          Australia
         
Lynne Sigler
          Canada
         
Brian Spooner
          United Kingdom
       
Leho Tedersoo
          Estonia
       
Martin Vohnik
       Czech Republic


Orbiliomycetes Working Group

Hans-O. Baral (Convenor)
Tübingen, Germany
zotto@arcor.de

XingZhong Liu (Secretary)
State Key Lab of Mycology, Beijing, China
liuxz@im.ac.cn

Bernard Declercq
Wachtebeke, Belgium
bernard.declercq2@pandora.be

Walter Gams
Baarn, The Netherlands
walter.gams@online.nl

Stip Helleman
Boxmeer,Netherlands
stip.helleman@tele2.nl

Seppo Huhtinen
University of Turku
sephuh@utu.fi

Kevin Hyde
Muang, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
kdhyde1@gmail.com

Xianzhi Jiang
Novozymes, Beijing, China
XZJG@novozymes.com

Dick Korf
Emeritus Professor of Mycology, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
info@mycotaxon.com

Bin Liu
Guangxi University, China
liubin@gxu.edu.cn

Guy Marson
National Museum of Natural History, Luxembourg
gmarson@pt.lu

Neven Matočec
Asco-Lab, Jastrebarsko, Croatia
neven.matocec1@zg.t-com.hr

Piotr Perz
Kłodzko, Poland
uslugi@data.pl

Don Pfister
Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
dpfister@oeb.harvard.edu

Eugene Popov
Komarov Botanical Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia
pezicula@gmail.com

Jean-Paul Priou
La Gacilly, France
PRIOUJPP@aol.com

Luis Quijada
University of La Laguna,
Tenerife, Spain
Luismoso@hotmail.com

Brian Spooner
Kew, London, UK
B.Spooner@kew.org

Marc Stadler
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, 38124 Braunschweig, Germany
marc.stadler@helmholtz-hzi.de

Hong-yan Su
University of Dali, China
suhongyan16@yahoo.com.cn

Raul Tena Lahoz
Teruel, Spain
raultenalahoz@yahoo.es

Evi Weber
University of Tübingen, Germany
zotto@arcor.de

Michael Weiß
University of Tübingen, Germany
michael.weiss@uni-tuebingen.de

Mei-Lee Wu
University of Pingtung, Taiwan
wuml@tmue.edu.tw

Zefen Yu
Yunnan University, China
zfyuqm@hotmail.com

Ying Zhang
Yunnan University, China
yzh_1210@hotmail.com

 

Yeast Working Group

Note: Affiliated with IUMS International Commission on Yeasts 

 

Workshop on Yeast Systematics and Classification, Saturday, August 25, 2012, Madison, Wisconsin

 

Committee on Yeast Systematics and Nomenclature

       Clete Kurtzman (Co-chair)
National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, 1815 N. University St., Peoria, Illinois 61604, USA
Email: cletus.kurtzman@ars.usda.gov
       
Jack Fell (Co-chair)
University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, Key Biscayne, Florida, USA
Email: jfell@rsmas.miami.edu
       
Feng-Yan Bai
State Key Laboratory of Mycology, Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 
Beijing 100101, China
Email: baify@im.ac.cn 

Dominik Begerow
Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Geobtany’, Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology, ND 03/174, Universitätsstraße 150, 44801 Bochum, Germany
Email: dominik.begerow@rub.de
       
Marizeth Groenewald
CBS Fungal Biodiversity Centre, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Email: m.groenewald@cbs.knaw.nl
       
Teun Boekhout
CBS Fungal Biodiversity Centre, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Email: t.boekhout@cbs.knaw.nl  
       
Heide-Marie Daniel
Université catholique de Louvain, Earth and Life Institute, Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL), Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium 
 Email: heide-marie.daniel@uclouvain.be
       
André Lachance
University of Western Ontario, Department of Biology University of Western Ontario London, Ontario Canada N6A 5B7
Email: lachance@uwo.ca
       
Diego Libkind
Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET)-Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas (CONICET)-Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Laboratorio de Microbiología Aplicada y Biotecnología, Instituto de Investigaciones en Biodiversidad y Medio-ambiente, Bariloche, Argentina 
Email: diego.libkind@gmail.com
       
Gabor Peter
National Collection of Agricultural and Industrial Microorganisms, Faculty of Food Sciences, Corvinus University of Budapest, Somlói út 14-16. H-1118 Budapest, Hungary
Email: gabor.peter@uni-corvinus.hu
       
Scott Redhead (systematics advisor)
National Mycological Herbarium, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada,960 Carling Avenue Neatby Bldg., Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0C6
Email: basidium@hotmail.com
       
Masako Takashima
Japan Collection of Microorganisms, RIKEN BioResource Center, 2-1 Hirosawa, Wako, Saitama 351-0198, Japan
Email: masako@jcm.riken.jp

  

Medical Mycology Working Group   Meeting in Utrecht, 12-13 April 2013: ‘The future of barcoding: getting closer, or drifting further away from clinical practice?’

Sybren de Hoog (Convenor)
De.hoog@cbs.knaw.nl

Gerhard Haase
ghaase@ukaachen.de

Michaela Lackner
ela.youngisham@googlemail.com

Vishnu Chaturvedi
eic@mycopathologia.net

Wieland Meyer
w.meyer@usyd.edu.au

Tom Walsh
thomaswalshmd@gmail.com

 

Oomycetes working group

André Lévesque (Convenor),
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada

Marco Thines
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Niklaus Grunwald
USDA ARS, Corvallis, USA

Frank Martin
USDA ARS, Salinas, USA

Michael Coffey
University of California Riverside, USA

Michael Stanghellini
University of California Riverside, USA

Timothy Paulitz
Washington State University, USA

Gordon W. Beakes
Newcastle University, UK

Yilmaz Balci
University of Maryland, USA

Seogchan Kang
Pennsylvania State University, USA

Gloria Abad
USDA APHIS, Beltsville, USA

Arthur de Cock
CBS, the Netherlands

Pyricularia/Magnaporthe working group
 
Ning Zhang (Convenor)
Rutgers University, USA
zhang@aesop.rutgers.edu

Takayuki Aoki
National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences, Japan
taoki@nias.affrc.go.jp

Izumi Chuma
Kobe university, Japan
chuizm@kobe-u.ac.jp

Pedro Crous
CBS Fungal Biodiversity Centre, Netherlands
p.crous@cbs.knaw.nl

Ralph Dean
North Carolina State University
radean2@ncsu.edu

Ronald de Vries
CBS Fungal Biodiversity Centre, Netherlands
r.devries@cbs.knaw.nl

Nicole Donofrio
University of Delaware, USA
ndonof@udel.edu

Marc-Henri LEBRUN
Directeur UR BIOGER, France
marc-henri.lebrun@versailles.inra.fr

Amy Rossman
USDA-ARS, USA
Amy.Rossman@ars.usda.gov

Didier THARREAU
CIRAD-BIOS, France
tharreau@cirad.fr

Yukio TOSA
Kobe University, Japan
tosayuki@kobe-u.ac.jp

Barbara Valent
Kansas State University, USA
bvalent@ksu.edu

Zonghua Wang
Fujian Agriculture and Forestry University, China
zonghuaw@163.com

Jin-Rong Xu
Purdue University, USA
jinrong@purdue.edu



Creative Commons LicenseThis work by International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.