Home Affiliations Members Statutes Resources NomenclatorPublications Subcommissions Meetings Links Courses Login
Posted on 2007-05-19

ICTF annual report 2001-2002

International Commission for the Taxonomy of the Fungi

Report for 2001-2002

Chairman (acting), and elected Secretary:
Dr. Keith A. Seifert,
Eastern Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre,
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada,
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C6
email: seifertk@em.agr.ca
fax: 1-613-759-1924

The Commission failed to make quorum at the International Mycological Congress in Jerusalem, Israel, in 1998. The chair at that time, Prof. D. L. Hawksworth, had planned to resign at that meeting and a new executive and membership was to be elected. Prof. Hawksworth subsequently retired from the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux International, and the Commission was left in limbo for several years. In the autumn of 2001, the Secretary asked the membership for a mandate to act as Acting Chairman until the next International Mycological Congress is held in Oslo, Norway, in August 2002. At the same time, the Secretary asked the existing membership to state their intentions to resign for the Commission, or to remain as active members. This has resulted in the retention of a core group of five members, including the acting chair, who will meet in Oslo and attempt to reconstitute the Commission. At that time, it will also be necessary to emend the Statutes of the Commission to allow it to function in the period until the subsequent International Mycological Congress.

Despite this, the various Subcommissions under this Commission continue to function. The International Commission on Penicillium and Aspergillus and the International Subcommission on the Systematics of Fusarium (also a subcommission of the International Society for Plant Pathology) continue to have active programs of communication and some collaboration amongst their members. ICPA is organizing a symposium at the upcoming International Union of Microbiological Sciences meeting in Paris, July-Aug. 2002 and the Fusarium group will meet at a satellite meeting of the International Congress of Plant Pathology in Sydney, Australia in January 2003.

Creative Commons LicenseThis work by International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.