HomeMembersSubcommissionsLists & PublicationsAffiliationsStatutesResourcesNomenclatorMeetingsLinksCoursesLogin




1. Definition.  The International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi (ICTF) is a joint Commission of the Mycology Division of the International Union of Microbiological Societies  (IUMS), the International Union of Biological Sciences, and the International Mycological Association (IMA; Section for General Mycology, IUBS).

2. Objective and Aims.  The objective of the ICTF is to promote work on the taxonomy of fungi, especially those of economic importance, to encourage dispersal of its results, and to develop good taxonomic practice. The Commission’s primary aim is to improve, and to promote improvements in, any or all aspects of fungal systematics.  The Commission further aims to extend understanding of fungal systematics in the scientific community, but publishing its findings, and by sponsoring meetings, workshops and sessions dealing with aspects of its work.

3. Membership.  Membership is by invitation of the Commission.  Membership shall be limited to experts in some area of fungal taxonomy, or such other persons who in the opinion of the Commission are able to provide fundamental information on fungal systematics on an ongoing basis.  The is no limit to the number of members.  Any member may make a proposal to invite a new member: the decision to issue an invitation shall be decided by simple majority vote of the members.  The members are entitled to serve a period of 4 (four) years with the possibility of serving more than one term.  Terms will generally be considered for renewal at each International Mycological Congress (IMC).

4. Termination of membership.  A member may resign at any time by written communication to the Secretary.  Any individual’s membership may be terminated at any time by a simple majority vote of members, the purpose of this Statute being to exclude continuing membership from those not actively participating in the Commission’s work.

5. Executive.  The Executive shall consist of a Chairman, a Secretary, and, if the need arises, a Treasurer, elected from within the membership.  The Chairman will automatically become the Past-Chair following his/her resignation as the Chairman. Executive positions should be held until such time as elections are called for, at the request of any member in writing to the Secretary.  Upon such a request, the Secretary shall call for nominations for all Executive positions, and arrange a ballot for such positions, to be held by email within thirty days of the original request.  Voting may be by email ballot or at a formal meeting.

6. Responsibilities.  The Chairman shall be responsible for the Commission’s work programme.  The Secretary shall be responsible for keeping minutes of formal meetings, for other record keeping, and for keeping IUMS Mycology Division and IMA informed of the Commission’s activities.  The Treasurer shall be responsible for the Commission’s finances, and shall submit a balance sheet to each formal meeting of the Commission.

7. Governance.  The Commission shall be bound by the statutes of the IUMS Mycology Division and of the IMA.

8. Finances.  The Commission has the right to raise funds and to administer those funds as it sees fit, for its own purposes, as a non‑profit organization bound by the statutes of IUMS and IMA.

9. Publications.  The Commission has the right to publish any or all of its deliberations, studies or findings, as it sees fit.  Members or consultants may publish results of work sponsored by the Commission only with Commission approval, by majority vote, and shall suitably acknowledge Commission support.

10. Subcommissions.  The Commission has the right to form, and should actively encourage the formation of Subcommissions.  The Subcommissions have the function to promote the systematics of a specific genus, of a related group of genera or other taxonomic oriented subjects.  Such Subcommissions shall be bound by these Statutes and by Statutes of IUMS and IMA.  Such Subcommissions shall produce and operate within their own set of Statutes, which must be approved by ICTF.  In other respects such Subcommissions shall be self governing.

11. Formal meetings.  A formal meeting of the Commission is defined as a meeting at which a Chairman is appointed, minutes are taken, and voting procedures used.  A formal meeting may be held at any time when not less than 5 (five) members are together, provided that all Commission members are advised in advance in writing of such a meeting.

12. Voting.  Voting on any matter related to the Commission may be taken by email, in which case a decision will be made by a simple majority of members who return a vote to the Secretary by a nominated date; or at a formal meeting, as defined in Clause 12, again by a simple majority vote of members present and proxies received from absent members.  In these Statutes, "voting" is governed by the provisions of this clause.

13. Disbanding.  The Commission may be disbanded (1) by simple majority vote of members either by post or at a formal meeting; or (2) by a constitutional and valid vote of IUMS Mycology Division and IMA to order disbanding.  In the event of disbanding, any and all assets of the Commission shall be disbursed equally between IUMS and IMA.

14. Alteration of Statutes.  These statutes may be altered by simple majority vote of members, under the conditions defined in Clause 12.


These statutes adopted 19 August 1994, modified 14 August 2002.

Creative Commons LicenseThis work by International Commission on the Taxonomy of Fungi is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.